Silver Lunar Specifications & Information

Silver Lunar

Compare Silver Lunar Prices

The Australian Lunar coin series is produced by the Perth Mint and celebrates Chinese astrology and the Chinese zodiac. The 12-year series features releases marking the Year of the Mouse, Year of the Ox, Year of the Tiger, Year of the Rabbit, Year of the Dragon, Year of the Snake, Year of the Horse, Year of the Goat, Year of the Monkey, Year of the Rooster, Year of the Dog and Year of the Pig.

The coins contain 99.9% pure Silver. The Lunar coins were originally only available in Gold and the Silver Lunar coin programme started in 1999, three years after the Gold Lunar series. This causes some confusion between the Gold and Silver series due to the differing start dates. However, in 2007 Perth Mint decided to synchronize the Gold and Silver Lunar. They did this by minting Silver Lunar 2008 Year of the Rat, Silver Lunar 2009 Year of the Ox and Silver Lunar 2010 Year of the Tiger coins between 23 July 2007 and 31 August 2007. These Silver Lunar coins carry the date year of the mintage – 2007 – on the obverse and the Lunar year on the reverse. This dual dating only applies to these coins and is as a result of the synchronization. The confusion arises as these coins can sometimes be listed as either Series I or Series II (both being correct, either as Series I relating purely to the Silver or Series II relating to both Silver and Gold Lunar programmes when aligned).

All Lunar coins are legal tender under the Australian Currency Act 1965 and have an image of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and the monetary denomination on the obverse. The design on the reverse side of the coin changes annually, featuring an image reflecting the relevant Chinese zodiac year, for example 2011 - Year of the Rabbit.

Silver Lunar Technical Specifications
Size Face
(T oz)


1 Kilo$30.99932.151001.002100.6014.60
2 oz$2.9992.0062.7755.603.60
1 oz$1.9991.0031.13545.602.60
1/2 oz$0.50.9990.5015.56636.602.30

The Australian Lunar Silver Coin Series have been produced in a variety of sizes (up to eight) including 10 kilo, 1 kilo, 1/2 kilo, 10oz, 5oz, 2oz, 1oz and 1/2oz. However, it is the four sizes of 1kg, 2oz, 1oz and ½ oz which are more commonly produced. Specifications for these coins are listed below.